England and Wales

Well, this group certainly has been interesting, hasn’t it? So many headlines, from Russia somehow NOT being disciplined after another flare in the stadium (because apparently that wasn’t sufficient to remove the suspension from the ban) to Gareth Bale having to eat a bit of crow, perhaps?

Full disclosure. I’m a massive England fan. I might have said that before, but I breathe this team whenever they play. Yes, my darling Jack Butland isn’t on the pitch of late as he recovers, but there’s still so much to be excited about.

Also, my brother-in-law is Welsh, like from Wales, like came here when marrying my sister. So when they’re on, my family cheers for Wales. And I love, them, I really do. Wales is such a lovely country, and Gareth Bale is hard not to cheer for.

That of course poses a bit of a problem for me as a spectator to them playing each other, but I have to say, I was pleased with the result, especially with my love for Vardy.

Now, though, I feel pretty good about their odds going forward. If Wales gets a result against Russia and it’s better than any result Slovakia might get against England (which they’d better not have any at all), then both teams move forward, if my math is all correct.

It’s been exhilarating, but I have to say, I’ll be happy when this group’s last matches (playing right now, about five minutes into each) are over and I can move on. It’s produced some beautiful football and some despicable headlines. It’s produced poor behavior from fans, players, and thankfully not so much the managers. It’s led many of us to question the security at these matches, and led me to wonder about the sanity of humankind.

Not that I don’t do that all the time. I’m a writer. That’s kind of our job.

I just feel, though, that with a group I should have looked forward to, I’m now looking forward to seeing the back of it, and it’s leaving me a bit melancholy. I mean, it’s 2016. You’d think, by now, that people would have figured out how to be civil to each other, even in competition.

Apparently that’s too much to hope for. So instead, I’ll hope for 3 points each for the UK teams.

Cheers,

C

Leave a Reply

